Dancer Equired!

6.7 21人评价

Times New Viking / 摇滚 / 2011-04-26


Contrary to popular belief, the members of Times New Viking are not art school dropouts; they’re art school graduates. And rather than follow the path of stuffy galleries and regular unemployment, they chose to start a band. Times New Viking, consisting of Beth Murphy on keyboards/vocals, Adam Elliott on drums/vocals, and Jared Phillips on guitar, began inconspicuously in 2003 when it was particularly out of vogue to do it yourself. From their first noise-crusted basement tapes that coaxed Siltbreeze Records founder Tom Lax from retirement to indie-elite Matador Records, Times New Viking’s star rose while they still sounded like the best Messthetics one-off you always wanted to keep to yourself.

Dancer Equired, the band’s first album for Merge, is a return to the hive, even if the record’s creation was out of their usual boundaries. It should be known that for the first time, the trio escaped to a studio, namely Columbus Discount Recording and the famed Musicol, during the summer of violence. With the help of Adam Smith and Dustin White, Times New Viking recorded and produced an album sounds like a mellow night out. Though it abandons the pissy histrionics of the past, the record retains the loud, brash, mammoth guitars but also magnifies the bright, beautiful traits the band has nurtured since the beginning. Dancer Equired is a new chapter, sure to attract an entirely new audience of intrigued listeners while keeping old Times New Viking fans perfectly satiated by not abandoning those early ideals. Rip it up and start again.

Dancer Equired!的曲目列表

1. It's A Culture
2. Ever Falling In Love
3. No Room To Live
4. Try Harder
5. California Roll
6. Ways To Go
7. New Vertical Dwellings
8. Downton Eastern Bloc
9. More Rumours
10. Don't Go To Liverpool
11. Fuck Her Tears
12. Want To Exist
13. Somebody's Slave
14. No Good

Dancer Equired!的短评(2)

推荐Dancer Equired!的豆列

喜欢Dancer Equired!的人也喜欢


免费下载 iOS / Android 版客户端