Lady in Satin

9.2 2592人评价

Billie Holiday / 爵士 / 23 September, 1997


Lady in Satin is an album by jazz singer Billie Holiday released in 1958 on Columbia Records, catalogue CL 1157 in mono and CS 8048 in stereo. It is the next to final album completed by the singer and released in her lifetime (Her final album, "Billie Holiday" being recorded in March 1959 and released just after her death). The original album was produced by Irving Townsend, and engineered by Fred Plaut.
The song material for Lady in Satin derived from the usual sources for Holiday in her three decade career, that of the Great American Songbook of classic pop. Unlike the bulk of Holiday's recordings, rather than in the setting of a jazz combo Holiday returns to the backdrop of full orchestral arrangements as done during her Decca years, this time in the contemporary vein of Frank Sinatra or Ella Fitzgerald on her Songbooks series. The album consists of songs Holiday had never recorded before.
The arrangements were by bandleader Ray Ellis, Holiday familiar with his Ellis in Wonderland album. Soloists on the album included Mel Davis, Urbie Green, and bebop trombone pioneer J.J. Johnson. The song "The End of a Love Affair" did not appear on the stereo release, CS 8048, the final track of side two being "I'll Be Around."

Lady in Satin的曲目列表

01 I'm A Fool To Want You
02 For Heaven's Sake
03 You Don't Know What Love Is
04 I Get Along Without You Very Well
05 For All We Know
06 Violets For Your Furs
07 You've Changed
08 It's Easy To Remember
09 But Beautiful
10 Glad To Be Unhappy
11 I'll Be Around
• The End Of A Love Affair
• I'm A Fool To Want You (Take 3)
• I'm A Fool to Want You (Take 2 - Alternate Take)
• The End Of A Love Affair: The Audio Story
• The End Of A Love Affair (Stereo)
• Pause Track

Lady in Satin的短评(332)

推荐Lady in Satin的豆列

喜欢Lady in Satin的人也喜欢


免费下载 iOS / Android 版客户端