Transfiguration of Vincent

8.7 149人评价

M. Ward / 2003-03-18


"M. Ward's Transfiguration of Vincent album is a house filled with ghosts, from the spirits of friends who have passed away to the departed legends of American roots music." -- PopMatters

"This is a dark night of the soul record, a distant country cousin of Young's Tonight's The Night." -- The Wire

"Another masterclass in deft guitar picking smudged with piano, harmonica, and a voice like honey drizzled onto a dry creekbed." -- Uncut

* First time available on vinyl!

* 180 gram audiophile quality vinyl with expanded artwork by original album artist John King.

* CD released by Merge Records in 2003 has sold over 100,000 copies.

* Current member of She & Him with Zooey Deschanel.

* Announcements through website/blog campaign.

* Ads with prominent web publications.

M. Ward's third album places him in the forefront of a modern movement that is clearly progressive while simultaneously sounding regressive, manifesting a genius that is pure and untempered. His music defies description except to say it is coming from somewhere steeped in early blues with a Neil Young overlay and the feel of country, blues, pop, and folk. People point to Tom Waits and others as Ward's forbearers, but the muse here is genuinely unique and the sounds are those that only a budding genius could make. The opening riff of "Fool Says" feels like it came from Abbey Road, but by the song's end you have been dipped in Young and Dylan. M. Ward makes beautiful music--sounds like you have never encountered--and sings along with the melodies as if he can't help himself. Who could if they had this much soul? It is all coming from a very deep place, and you owe it to yourself to hear these songs because they are the most soulful and melodic tunes you will have heard in quite some time. If you put this album on your turntable it will be a long time before you take it off. The more you listen, the deeper it gets--just like M. Ward himself. This is genius--pure genius--and you need to hear it.

"Some time in 2035, I'm going to pull this album out, and it's going to sound just as good as it does now. There's something running through it that broadcasts timelessness and defies genre constraints." -- Pitchfork [8.3]

Transfiguration of Vincent的曲目列表

1. Transfiguration #1
2. Vincent O'Brien
3. Sad, Sad Song
4. Undertaker
5. Duet For Guitars #3
6. Outta My Head
7. Involuntary
8. Helicopter
9. Poor Boy, Minor Key
10. Fool Says
11. Get To The Table On Time
12. A Voice At The End Of The Line
13. Dead Man
14. Let's Dance
15. Transfiguration #2

Transfiguration of Vincent的短评(25)

Transfiguration of Vincent的乐评(1)

推荐Transfiguration of Vincent的豆列

喜欢Transfiguration of Vincent的人也喜欢


免费下载 iOS / Android 版客户端